Image default
Home » حسن عبدالله | رسام
الفنون

حسن عبدالله | رسام

بالنسبة لي كان الرسم شيئًا غريبًا. لقد كان عالمًا آخر.

من إحباط الأسرة والتهديد بالاضطهاد السياسي إلى ترك كل شيء وراءه والبدء من الصفر في بلد جديد ، يواصل حسن عبدة الرسم رغم كل الصعاب.

حسن عبد الله ، رسام معروض دوليًا ومقره حاليًا في لندن ، ولد عام 1955 في الحسكة ، وهي مدينة في شمال شرق سوريا ومركز منطقة زراعية مروية واسعة. مكان أعطى جيلاً عظيماً من الرسامين رغم أن الناس ينظرون إليهم “وكأنهم مجانين”. روح متمردة ، بدأ حسن الرسم في سن الأربعين ومنذ ذلك الحين ابتكر عددًا لا يحصى من اللوحات التعبيرية التجريدية الشبيهة بالأحلام المليئة بالذكريات والانعكاسات ، فضلاً عن الألوان والأشكال والقوام المتناقضة. عرضت أعماله في العديد من المعارض الفردية والجماعية في سوريا ولبنان وتركيا وألمانيا والسويد وإسبانيا والمملكة المتحدة.

Syrian painter Hasan Abdalla in London.

كيف بدأت الرسم؟ لقد بدأت في وقت متأخر جدًا عندما كان لديك بالفعل وظيفة في مهنة أخرى.

كان عمري 40 عامًا عندما بدأت الرسم. البداية المتأخرة مرتبطة بأسرتي وعقليتهم تجاه الإبداع. كانوا قرويين بسيطين. أرادوا مني أن أدرس ، لا أكثر. لم يهتموا بالإبداع وأي ميل نحو تخصصات أخرى غير الدراسة الأكاديمية. إنها قرية بدائية للغاية ولا يشجع الناس الآخرين على متابعة المشاريع الإبداعية ، بل ينظرون إلى الرسامين كما لو كانوا مجانين.

صورة لحسن عبد الله في لندن عام 2017. الصورة بإذن من Someth1ng Ltd.

بالنسبة لي ، كان الرسم شيئًا غريبًا. لقد كان عالمًا آخر. لم أكن أعتقد أنني سأصبح رسامًا لأنه لم يكن لدي أي خبرة في الرسم. بدأت بالرسم فجأة ، الأمر الذي كان مفاجأة للآخرين. عندما اكتشفت أن الناس مهتمون بلوحاتي التعسفية ، تابعت. لقد طورت أسلوبي. بدأت الرسم على لوحات صغيرة ثم على لوحات أكبر. في ذلك الوقت كنت أفكر في الجمهور. اعتقدت ، إذا قمت برسم أي شيء ، فلا بد أن يكون موضع اهتمام الناس. لم أكن أرسم لنفسي. في معرضي الأول ، كنت أرسم لنفسي. للمرة الثانية ، قسمت التركيز بين الرسم لنفسي والمشاهدين.

كنت أدرِِّس [الأدب الإنجليزي] في إحدى الجامعات لفترة طويلة. في النهاية ، تركت الجامعة لأكرس وقتي للرسم فقط.

لوحة "الأصدقاء" للرسام السوري حسن عبد الله في غاليري Someth1ng في لندن.
لوحة “الأصدقاء” للرسام السوري حسن عبد الله في غاليري Someth1ng في لندن.

ما الذي ألهمك للرسم؟ هل تغير إلهامك بعد قدومك إلى المملكة المتحدة؟

عندما كنت طفلاً ، ألهمتني القرية: الحقول الشاسعة والنساء اللائي يعملن طوال اليوم والرجال الذين كانوا جالسين وينتظرون شخصًا آخر – زوجاتهم أو أطفالهم – لخدمتهم. [يؤلمني كثيرا] لأن النساء عوملن معاملة سيئة. في البداية ، كانت لوحاتي تدور حول النساء من مختلف التعبيرات والمواقف المختلفة ، للدلالة على أن النساء يعانين ولا أحد يعرف.

زودتني إنجلترا بأفكار جديدة ونظرة جديدة للرسم. يجب أن أفكر في الأشخاص المختلفين عن شعبي هنا. لهذا السبب تضيف إلى تجربتك عندما تواجه ثقافات أجنبية.

لوحة "الفارس" للرسام السوري حسن عبد الله.
لوحة “الفارس” للرسام السوري حسن عبد الله.

رسمت في سوريا في عام 2009، “الفارس” كانت مستوحاة من المقاومة البطولية للشعب ضد الاحتلال. على خلفية منازل بعيدة ، تظهر شخصية مجردة من بقع متناقضة من الألوان في منتصف حقل دائري. إن الذراع الممدودة ، التي تُلف أحيانًا حول أكتاف أحد أفراد أسرته ، وفي أحيان أخرى تعزف على العود أو ترفع بحماس في الهواء كما في لوحة “الفارس” ، هي فكرة متكررة تُرى خلال أعمال عبد الله.

مقابلة بواسطة كارمن تينغ

مقالات ذات الصلة

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. قبول Read More

Image default
Home » Hasan Abdalla || Painter
Arts

Hasan Abdalla || Painter

To me painting was something strange; it was another world.

From discouragement of the family and threats of political persecution, to leaving everything behind and starting from stratch in a new country, Hasan Abdaa keeps painting against all odds.

An internationally exhibited painter currently based in London, Hasan Abdalla was born in 1955 in Al Hasakeh, a city in NorthEastern Syria and centre of an extensive irrigated-farming region.  Also, a place which gave a great generation of painters, despite people looking upon them “as if they were mad”. A rebellious soul, Hasan picked up painting at 40 and has since created countless dream-like abstract expressionist paintings filled with memories and reflections, as well as contrasting colours, shapes and textures. His work has been exhibited in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Syria, Lebanon, Turkey, Germany, Sweden, Spain, and the UK.

Syrian painter Hasan Abdalla in London.

How did you start painting? You started quite late when you already had a career in another profession.

I was about 40 when I started painting. The late beginning is related to my family and their mentality towards creativity. They were simple villagers. They wanted me to study, nothing more. They didn’t care about creativity and any inclination towards disciplines other than academic study. It is a very primitive village and people don’t encourage others to pursue creative ventures,  they look at the painters as if they are mad. 

Portrait of Hasan Abdalla in London in 2017. Image courtesy of Someth1ng Ltd.

To me, painting was something strange. It was another world. I didn’t think I would become a painter because I did not have any painting experience. I started painting suddenly, which was surprising to others. When I found out that people were interested in my arbitrary paintings, I continued. I developed my style. I began painting on small canvases and then on even larger canvases. At that time I was thinking about the audience. I thought, if I painted anything, it must be of interest to people. I was not painting for myself. For my first exhibition, I was painting for myself. For my second, I split the focus between painting for myself and viewers. 

For a long time I was teaching [English literature] at a university. Eventually, I left the university because I was dedicated only to painting.

Canvas “Friends” by Syrian painter Hasan Abdalla at Someth1ng Gallery in London.
Canvas “Friends” by Hasan Abdalla. Image courtesy of Someth1ng Ltd.

What inspired you to paint? Has your inspiration changed after coming to the UK?

When I was a child, I was inspired by the village: the vast fields and the women who were working all day and the men who were just sitting and waiting for somebody else – their wives or their children – to serve them. [It pained me a lot] because the women were treated badly. At first, my paintings were all about women of different expressions and different attitudes, showing that women were suffering and nobody knew. 

England provided me with new ideas and a new outlook on painting. I have to think about the people here who are different from my people. That’s why you add to your experience when you experience foreign cultures. 

Canvas “The Knight” by Syrian painter Hasan Abdalla.
Canvas “The Knight” by Hasan Abdalla. Image courtesy of Someth1ng Ltd.

Painted in Syria in 2009, “The Knight” was inspired by the heroic resistance of the people against occupation. Against a backdrop of houses in the distance, an abstract figure emerges from contrasting patches of colours in the middle of a circular field. The outstretched arm, sometimes wrapped around the shoulders of a loved one, other times strumming a lute or passionately raised in the air as in “The Knight”, is a recurring motif seen throughout Abdalla’s oeuvre.

Interview by Carmen Ting

Related posts

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More